November 2, 2011

The Five Pillars of Islam

The Five Pillars of Islam 

The Five Pillars of Islam is the term given to the fundamental aspects of Islam. These five pillars are the most important obligations of a Muslim under Sharia law, and which devout all Muslims will perform faithfully, because they are essential to pleasing Allah. 

 The Five Pillars of Islam are

 "Shahadah": The Testimony that there is none worthy of worship except God and that Muhammad is his messenger. 

 " Salah": Establishing of the five daily Prayers (salah). 

 " Zakat": The Giving of Zakaah (charity), which is one fortieth (2.5%) of the net worth of possessions kept for more than a year, with few exemptions, for every Muslim whose wealth exceeds the nisab, and 10% or 20% of the produce from agriculture. This money or produce is distributed among the poor. 

 " Ramadhan": Fasting from dawn to dusk in the month of Ramadan (sawm). 

" Hajj": The Pilgrimage (Hajj) to Mecca during the month of Dhul Hijjah, which is compulsory once in a lifetime for one who has the ability to do it. 

NOTE: For the Shi'a a sect of Islam, the Five Pillars, or more correctly translated "the principles of religion", are the five fundamental principles of Islam; no more, no less. The Shi'a sect consider the Sunni five pillars to be merely the most important obligations rather than these being the Five Pillars of Islam.The Five Pillars of the Shi'a sect are:The Oneness of God (tawhid). The Justice of God ('adl). Prophethood (nubuwwah). The Leadership of Mankind (imamah). The Resurrection (me'ad).

No comments:

Post a Comment